Redefining the Classroom

Math and Computer Science Scholarships

Return to previous page

Faculty of Mathematics & Computer Science Scholarship
This scholarship was created in 2006 by the faculty of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science as a tool to retain highly qualified students at LSSU. Successful recipients must be a major in mathematics or computer science or pursuing a degree in math education with a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

William R. Gregory Scholarship
This scholarship was established in honor of William R. Gregory, former president of Edison Sault Electric Company. He has served as a member of the LSSU Board of Trustees and the LSSU Foundation Board. He received LSSU's Distinguished Citizen Award in 1986. Former LSSU President Robert Arbuckle once stated, "Bill Gregory has actively supported the University with his talent and treasure for over 25 years. No one in this region is more devoted to Lake State." Successful candidates must be a junior majoring in engineering, mathematics, business, biology or fisheries and wildlife management with a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Rosa L. Grout Scholarship Fund
A founder of the Chippewa County Employees Credit Union and a longtime Sault High School math teacher, Rosa Grout, enlightened more than 2,000 students on the beauty and precision of math. "I still hear from many of them who thank me for the structure and discipline that geometry instilled into their lives," she recalled shortly before her death in 2004 at the age of 95. Grout's spirit of education carries on in the form of a math, science and technical studies scholarship endowment she created in 1992. The student recipient is a major in engineering, engineering technology, mathematics, computer or mathematical science. Selection of the award is based upon high school GPA, ACT score and high school class rank.

Galen H. Harrison Mathematics and Computer Science Scholarship
This scholarship was established in 2001 by LSSU Professor Galen Harrison to provide a tuition scholarship to a math and computer science major. Professor Harrison taught at Lake State from 1963 until his retirement in 1996. Awarded to an incoming freshman, selection is based on a GPA of 3.0 or higher, class rank and ACT score.

Franklin F. and Wanda L. Otis Award
The Franklin F. Otis Scholarship was established in memory of one of the charter faculty of the Sault Branch of Michigan College of Mining and Technology. Franklin spent 30 years as a mathematics professor at Lake State, including 23 years as chair of the Mathematics Department. He was the University’s first faculty athletic representative, serving 12 years during the early development of the Laker athletic program. He was instrumental in the development of the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) and the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) leagues in which Lake State is a member today. In 1999, Franklin Otis was posthumously inducted to the LSSU Athletic Hall of Fame for his invaluable contributions to the Laker athletic program. His named scholarship recognizes the hard-working sophomore, junior or senior enrolled in mathematics or computer and mathematical science programs. The recipient must submit a letter of application to the faculty of the mathematics department and have a minimum 2.5 overall GPA and a minimum 3.0 grade point average in mathematics or computer science courses.

Gerald M. Samson Department of Mathematics Scholarship
Named in honor of LSSU faculty member Gerald Samson, this scholarship is awarded to a deserving computer and mathematical science major. The recipient is nominated and chosen by the mathematics faculty.