Redefining the Classroom

Annual Golf Classic benefits Laker Club, Fund for LSSU

Posted: June 12th, 2013

Click here for a slide show of this year's highlights.

BENEFIT APPETITE – Golfers enjoy lunch after a day on the links during the Lake Superior State University’s 24th annual Greater Peninsula Orthopedics Lake State Golf Classic, held June 1-2 at Boyne Mountain Resort. Registration, sponsorships, and proceeds from auctions held in conjunction with event receptions raised money for the Laker Club and the Fund for LSSU in support of academic and athletic programs and initiatives at Lake State. (LSSU/John Shibley)

A print-resolution photo that runs with the caption above can be found by clicking here.

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. – Lake Superior State University’s 24th annual Greater Peninsula Orthopedics Lake State Golf Classic in support of the Laker Club and the Fund for LSSU was held June 1-2 for the first time at Boyne Mountain Resort. The event attracted more than 115 alumni and friends of Lake Superior State.

Highlights included a live auction featuring a Green Bay Packer team-autographed football, a Red wing Pavel Datsyuk hockey stick, Kyle Jean (now with the New York Rangers organization) Laker jersey, and many other items, held at the Saturday night Classic Bash. About 75 items were sold during the live auction and throughout the weekend during a silent auction, and when combined with the proceeds from a raffle, set a new record for funds raised during that portion of the weekend. Raffle prizes were a $1,500 travel voucher, 50-inch flat-screen TV, and an iPad mini.

Sunday's golf scramble took place on Boyne Mountain's Monument course. Taking first place with a score of 56, in the A Flight were David Jahn, Dale Immel, Kevin Kalchik and Richard Bowerman. Second place A Flight was the foursome of Gary Sharp, Steve Hettinga, Tim Christian, and Doug Laprade with a 59.

In the B Flight, Rick Fitzpatrick, Chuck Cliff, Pete Schmidt, and Dave Drzewiecki took first-place with a score of 65, while the team of Mark Savoie, John Allison, Bill Goldenbogen, and Henry Guzzo placed second with a 66.

The Mixed team winners were Sandra Collins, Dan Dasho, Ernie Maas, and Jim Mackie with a score of 63 followed by Keith Laabs, Megan Manninen, Kevin Manninen, and Ronda Manninen. The Women’s winners were Susan Fitzpatrick, Joan Killips, Danielle Lindloff, and Luanne Webb.

Winners in the inaugural Soo Shooters Flight were Bill Crawford, Bill Eichstaedt, Tom Ewing, and Don Wilson with a score of 66, followed by the team known as “The Firm” consisting of Dan Parker, Greg Potter, Larry Potter, and Randy Potter.

Special event winners were Brad Ward for longest drive, and Tim Christian for closest to the pin. The Women’s special event winners were Ronda Manninen for longest drive and Sandra Collins for closest to the pin.

Next year’s 25th Lake State Golf Classic is slated for the same weekend in June 2013. Call the LSSU Foundation at 906/635-6670 for information and sponsorship opportunities.


CONTACTS: John Shibley, e-mail, 906-635-2314; Tom Pink, e-mail, 635-2315; Tom Coates, LSSU Foundation Office, e-mail, 635-6670.