Lake Superior State University
Lake Superior State University
 
Related Sites

 

Campus News

LSSU Athletic Training students prepare for Relay for Life

Posted: February 9th, 2014

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. – Lake Superior State University’s Student Athletic Training Association is preparing for the university’s annual Relay for Life, March 29-30, a feeder event for Sault Ste. Marie’s Relay for Life in July.

The LSSU event begins at 3 p.m. on Saturday, March 29, and runs through 3 a.m. on Sunday, March 30, in the Norris Center’s Student Activity Center. Although organized by students and held on campus, the event is open to anyone in the community and the group hopes to double its attendance this year.

Colleges Against Cancer will hold a kick-off event in the Crow's Nest in the Walker Cisler Center from 6-8 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 11, to let those in attendance know more out the club itself and the Relay for Life. There will be free pizza and drinks for students, and live music.

Following the Feb. 11 event, the students will present a number of activities leading up to the Relay.

“Members of the community are welcome to fight back against cancer by participating in this Relay for Life at LSSU as well as the event in Sault Ste. Marie this summer,” said Brenda Ransom, chair of the Sault Relay for Life. “We encourage everyone to support Relay for Life activities.”

Molly Paquin, representing the American Cancer Society, said everyone is welcome to become involved in the newly formed Colleges Against Cancer group and form a team for the Relay. Student organizations or community groups may form teams, or participants may join already formed teams here.

LSSU SATA member and Relay chair Rachel Morairty said the group is selling raffle tickets now through Feb. 22, when it will draw the winner at 2 p.m. during the LSSU basketball games. The raffle features cash prizes of $300, $100, $50, and two for $25. Of additional funds raised, 50 percent of the proceeds will go to Relay for Life and 50 percent will go to SATA to fund the students’ trips to annual conferences.

Additional events coming up with SATA for Relay for life include:

Moloney’s Alley Benefit – 6-9 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 19, at Moloney’s Alley on West Portage Avenue. This family-friendly event features live music, a silent auction and no cover charge, plus a 50/50 raffle with proceeds going to Relay for Life.

LSSU Pancake Breakfast – 9 a.m.-noon, Saturday, Feb. 22, Walker Cisler Center Superior Room. This second annual event is $5 per person; kids 5-under are free. There will be a silent auction and SATA members will be selling the last of their raffle tickets. Tickets for the event are available from SATA members and at the door.

For more information about any of the activities, please contact LSSU Event Chair Rachel Morairty at rmorairty@lssu.edu or Kristin Stempky at kstempky@lssu.edu. –LSSU –

CONTACT: Tom Pink, 906-635-2315, tpink@lssu.edu; John Shibley, 635-2314, jshibley@lssu.edu; Prof. Joe Susi, 906-635-2161, jsusi@lssu.edu; Brenda Ransom, Sault Relay for Life Chair, 906-630-4143, daymakers@lighthouse.net; Molly Paquin, American Cancer Society, molly.paquin@cancer.org, 231-268-3344


Home » News & Information > LSSU Athletic Training students prepare for Relay for Life
Share this page with your friends: