Redefining the Classroom

Ten retirees, 27 longtime employees honored at annual banquet

Posted: April 1st, 2014

NEW for March 31! See a gallery of the evening's events by clicking here.

Watch for wrap-up story!

OUTSTANDING OVATION – Lake Superior State University President Tony McLain, front, accepts a standing ovation after a surprise tribute provided by LSSU Provost Morrie Walworth during LSSU's annual Retirement and Service Awards dinner on March 27. The five years of McLain's presidency has seen refurbishment of South Hall begin for the Lukenda School of Business; plans set for improvements to the Norris Center; the School of Education receive a robust accreditation and expansion of its teaching facilities; a new nursing simulation lab – in partnership with War Memorial Hospital – open in a SSMartZone building that LSSU played a crucial role in developing; and the growth of a Product Development Center that continues to leverage the skills of engineering, business, biology, and chemistry students and faculty. McLain's tenure ends June 30; Thomas Pleger becomes LSSU's eighth president on July 1. (LSSU/John Shibley)

A print-resolution photo that runs with this caption can be found by clicking here.

COVETING HIS SERVICES – Lake Superior State University Provost Morrie Walworth (left) envies the special attention building attendant George Carlisle lavishes on Fletcher Student Services Center staffers - such as surprise chocolate treats – as he introduces Carlisle as employee of the year, an honor Carlisle shared with Arlene MacPherson of Human Resources. LSSU's annual Retirement and Service Awards dinner on March 27 also recognized retirees Leslie Dobbertin (41 years, social science), Dan Dorrity (43 years, history), Paul Duesing (30 years, engineering), Nancy LeGreve (23 years, mail services and Norris ticket office), Kathy Marchand (23 years, physical plant), Bob Marchand (23 years, physical plant), Cindy Merkel (computer, institutional analyst), Sue Ratwik (37 years, social science), Tom Schirer (30 years, arts and letters) and Cathy Smith (25 years, Cisler Center office), as well as employees who have marked 10, 20, 30 and even 40 years working on campus. MacPherson and Carlisle were chosen from a field of nominees that included fellow educational-support personnel David Drzewiecki, Krystle Gerzetich, Marcia Jenkins-Ball, Tracey MacQuarrie and Janine Murray, and administrative-professionals Vicki Fox, Steve Gregory, Roger Greil, Jackie Kellerman, Kristin Larsen, Suzette Olson, Jeanne Shibley, Karen Storey, Heidi Witucki and Shelley Wooley. There is no word, yet, whether Walworth was successful in wooing Carlisle into becoming custodian for the Administration building. (LSSU/John Shibley)

A print-resolution photo that runs with this caption can be found by clicking here.


CONTACTS: John Shibley, e-mail, 906-635-2314; Tom Pink, e-mail, 635-2315.