Redefining the Classroom

Winners announced for LSSU Short Story, Poetry contests

Posted: April 29th, 2014

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. -- The winners and runners-up for the annual LSSU Short Story Award and Stellanova Osborn Poetry Contest have been announced and a sophomore literature/creative writing student has captured first place in both contests.

Daisy Fentiman, Sault Ste. Marie, will receive a $100 prize for her story, “Five Years,” and also for her poem, “I Long to See the Day.” For both contests, LSSU students submitted stories and poems from which finalists were selected and passed on to a final judge outside the university.

Runners-up in the short story contest included junior Elizabeth Masters, for her short story, "Missing," and freshman Jana Tahtinen, for her short story, "The Ticket." Both are majoring in literature/creative writing.

Runners-up in the poetry contest included Brian Heeke, a junior in fine arts studies, for his poem, "Balreet” (Villanelle Love Poem), and Michael Magaha, a junior in elementary education, for "The Intimacy of Dreams." Haske also selected Fentiman's poem, "Water Waits," as a runner-up.

This year’s judge was 1999 LSSU alumnus Joseph Haske, a poet, award-winning short story writer, American Book Review editor and author of the recently published novel North Dixie Highway, which is set in the Upper Peninsula. Of the selections he read from the 11 poetry and seven short story finalists, Haske said, “There was much to like,” and he added that the Creative Writing Program at Lake State is “obviously doing well."

The full list of finalists is on the LSSU English Department website, –LSSU-

CONTACT: Tom Pink, 906-635-2315,; John Shibley, 635-2314,; Prof. Mary McMyne,, 635-2327