Our Statements

Vision Statement

The Arts Center at Lake Superior State University will engage our communities in presentations that advance the culture of the mind, body, and spirit – reminding us all of what it is to be human.

Mission Statement

The Arts Center at Lake Superior State University is the home of an array of exciting live performances and visual presentations by visiting and local artists, as well as speakers addressing social, cultural and intellectual concerns. It also serves as the dedicated space for the training of Lake State’s theatre, music and visual art students. By providing quality programming and engaging community outreach, and through the work of highly qualified faculty and staff, we strive to fully integrate the fine and performing arts into the liberal arts based education at Lake Superior State University, as well as the lives of the people of the Great Lakes.

Our Season Sponsors

This season has been generously sponsored in part by the Michigan Council for the Arts and Cultural Affairs, the Duncan MacLaren Family Fund for the Performing Arts, the Al Beamish Music Performance Endowment Fund, and the Fund for LSSU. Additional sponsors are the Arts Midwest Touring Fund, a program of Arts Midwest that is funded by the National Endowment for the Arts and the Crane Group.

We sincerely thank them for their support in bringing quality performances to our students and surrounding community.

Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs Logo National Endowment for the Arts and Arts Midwest Logo

Our History

The following boards and committees were in place at time of construction:

Arts Center Steering Committee
Richard ‘74 and Sarah Morrison, Chairs
Meg Hyatt Brown
Donald Finlayson
Louis Lukenda ‘49
Stephen Madigan ‘69
Evan Noyes
Thomas Robinson
Madan Saluja
James Schmidt
Barbara Taylor

LSSU Board of Trustees
Dean M. Altobelli
Meg Hyatt Brown
Barbara Cliff
Cindy N. Dingell
W. W. (Frenchie) LaJoie
Charles J. Schmidt
Devereaux Trepp
Gary Wolfram
Betty J. Youngblood, President

Foundation Board of Directors
Carol Andary
James Bearman ‘77
Gary Benjamin ‘70
William Bollin
Anthony G. Bosbous ‘73
H. James Bourque ‘56
Meg Hyatt Brown
Patricia Caruso ‘75
Chuck Cliff ‘77
William Connolly ‘79
Kevin Cooper ‘79
Betsy Demaray ‘83, ‘93
Ted Haapala
Jack Kibble ‘74
James Kjolhede ‘78
W. W. (Frenchie) LaJoie
Rodney Lang ‘82
Gary McClellan
Robert H. Mackie
Walter North
Anthony Palumbo ‘89
Greg Parker ‘84
Thomas Robinson
Madan Saluja
Patrick Shannon
Ian Ward ‘76
Don Wilson

Named Rooms
Entry Way
Senator Prentiss M. and Marion Walker Brown
Richard and Theresa Barch
Back Stage
The family and friends of Clara R. Noyes
East Cloak Room
Roberts P. and Ella B. Hudson Foundation
West Cloak Room
MichCon Foundation
East Theatre Concourse
Robert and Bonnie Arfstrom
West Theatre Concourse
Thomas and Harriette Robinson
Madigan/Pingatore Insurance Services
Box Office
Edison Sault Electric – a Wisconsin Energy Company
Classroom 208
Ethel Hill Berklund
Classroom 209
Rollin M. Gerstacker Foundation
Scene Shop
Robert and Lorriane Arbuckle
Green Room
Brenda and Ted Frey
Dressing Room 230
David and Patricia Hubbard
Faculty Office 225
Henry Norvell – in memory of Ruth Norvell
Student Lounge 115
Tony and Ethel Autore
Faculty Office 261
Shan-Lien (Toyko) Chen
Humanities Classroom 215
Richard and Sarah Morrison
Dressing Room 229
Walter and Sally North

Our Benefactors

The Family and Friends of Clara R. Noyes
Richard and Theresa Barch
Edison Sault Electric Company – A Wisconsin Energy Company
Robert and Lorraine Arbuckle
Robert and Bonnie Arfstrom – Arfstrom Pharmacies, Inc.
Tony and Ethel Autore
Ethel Hill Berklund
Meg and Paul Brown
Shan-Lien (Tokyo) Chen
Brenda and Ted Frey
Rollin M. Gerstacker Foundation
David and Patricia Hubbard
Roberts P. and Ella B. Hudson Foundation
Madigan/Pingatore Insurance Services
Richard and Sarah Morrison
Walter and Sally North
Henry Norvell – In memory of Ruth Norvell
Thomas and Harriette Robinson
Clarence G. and Mary Jane Bernier
Lynn Hyatt Brown and Robert Stefanski
Kevin and Pamela Cooper
Kenneth and Frances Finlayson
First National Bank of St. Ignace
Grand Hotel of Mackinac Island
William R. and Mary Louise Gregory
Richard and Lillian Jennings
John Lehman and Maureen Delaney-Lehman
Dr. Betty Pritchett Light – In memory of Dr. Kenneth F. Light
Alice R. McCarthy, Ph.D.
Tad and Brenda Malpass
Carol and William Martynuck
Charles Payment
Devereaux and Katherine Trepp
A. Gardner and Patricia Brown Watson
Tracy and Michael West

Have a Seat Appeal

Robert G. Andersen
Robert and Lorraine Arbuckle
Leanne Balcueva
Al Beamish
Gary and Dolores Benjamin
Heather Benjamin
James and Rosemary Blashill
Patricia C. Claxton
Kevin and Pamela Cooper
Gilbert and Ayako Cowan
John and Mary Crawford
John C. Cullen
Cindy and Chris Dingell
David Eitland and Katheryn King
Paul N. Franquist
Lawrence and Mary Futchik
Robert C. Gaertner
Mary Byrd Hann
Bruce and Linda Harger
Cynthia and Clarence Holman
Mr. Michael N. Isham
Mark and Kari Jastorff
Holly and Michael Johnson
Robert and Patricia Kjolhede
Dennis Klebba and Cheryl Mayer
KPMG Foundation
Rodney and JoEllen Lang
John Lehman and Maureen Delaney-Lehman
Betty Pritchett Light
Frederick and Barbara Ludwig
Louis and Mae Lukenda
Robert and Amy Madsen
Ann and Mario Marinoni
John and Arnett Maurer
Professor James W. Moody
Charles and Margaret Nairn
Walter and Sally North
Henry and Ruth Norvell
Linda Noyes
Nursing Legacy – Classes of 1975-80
John O. Ramsey
William H. Risteen
David and Jacqueline Saunders
Emily Selden Collins
Patrick and MaryAnne Shannon
Truman R. Strobridge
Devereaux and Katherine Trepp
Betty J. Youngblood