UAB logo

University Activities Board

University Activities Board (UAB) strives to provide activities and entertainment appealing to a wide variety of student interests by acknowledging the unique diversity of the student culture at Lake Superior State University. We seek to encourage student involvement in campus events and to promote University activities and programming.

UAB is charged with the task of providing programming for all Lake Superior State University students. We host traditional celebrations such as Laker Week, and Snowfest, in addition to many other events throughout the year. Typical events include musicians, comedians, hypnotist, movie nights, bowling nights, races, Jitters and more.

Do you have ideas for events & activities? Let us know! Call us at x2756, e-mail us, or stop by our office and chat face-to-face. Our office is located in the Student Organization Center (SOC), room 100 Cisler Center.

Are you interested in being a part of our board then come find out what we’re all about!

Meetings – Tuesdays @ 9 pm in the Student Organization Center

Upcoming Events

Laker Week 2017 – August 23rd to September 4th

ALL EVENTS ARE FREE FOR LSSU STUDENTS – *SOME EVENTS REQUIRE SIGN UPS – SEE BELOW*

Wednesday, August 23rd

  • Freshman Move In Day for residential students
  • Brady Bash – 7 pm Brady Lawn – join us for games and food to kick off the school year

Thursday, August 24th

  • Meet Your Major – 10:30 am – various locations based on majors (locations here)
  • University-Wide BBQ – 11:30 am Cisler Plaza (outside Galley)
  • G2S – 7 pm Brady Lawn – the ultimate ice breaking experience
  • Comedian, Jen Kober – 9 pm Arts Center

Friday, August 25th

  • Student Convocation – 11 am Arts Center – official welcome to our new Lakers!
  • Lakerpalooza – 12:30 pm Student Activity Center, Norris Center – come see what LSSU and the Soo community has to offer
  • Putt Putt & Ice Cream – 6 pm Downtown Soo

Saturday, August 26th

  • Fun in the Sun – 12 pm Brady Lawn – BBQ and games
  • Movie on the Lawn (Beauty and the Beast) – 9:30 pm Brady Lawn

Sunday, August 27th

  • Oozeball – 1 pm Norris Center – mud volleyball * SIGN UP HERE
  • Memorial for President Tom Pleger – 8:25 pm Brady Lawn
  • Late Night Breakfast – 10 pm Quarterdeck

Monday, August 28th

  • Laker Rodeo – 8 pm Galley Plaza – mechanical bull and food

Tuesday, August 29th

  • Self-Acceptance speaker, Ash Beckham – 8 pm Peacock Cove

Wednesday, August 30th

  • Boat Bash – 7 pm Soo Locks Boat Dock – first come, first serve. Limited space so get there early!

Thursday, August 31st

  • National Trail Mix Day – Laker Appreciation Day – 2 pm Cisler Center
  • Hypnotist, Josh McVicar – 8 pm Arts Center

Friday, September 1st

  • Bowling – 7 pm Dondee Lanes

Saturday, September 2nd

  • ROC Day Trip to Tahquamenon Falls – 10 am

Sunday, September 3rd

  • Mackinac Island Trip – 8 am leave from Cisler * SIGN UP HERE – Ferry Tickets and Transportation Provided

Monday, September 4th

  • Mackinac Bridge Walk – 5 am Leave from Cisler * SIGN UP HERE – Transportation Provided

*Subject to change*

Meet Our Board

University Activities Board (UAB) – 2017-2018

Advisor – Sharmay Wood (smwood@lssu.edu)

Coordinator – Kyrstin Sheridan (ksheridan@lssu.edu)

Associate Coordinator – Heather Gregg (hgregg@lssu.edu)

Student Engagement Coordinator – Cassie Merritt (cmerritt1@lssu.edu)

Committees:

  • Live Entertainment Coordinator – Abby Marinich (amarinich@lssu.edu)
  • Social Awareness and Diversity Coordinator – Meghan Casey (mcasey2@lssu.edu)
  • Publicity CoordinatorSara Plowman (splowman1@lssu.edu)
  • Creative Events Coordinator – Alyssa Geer (ageer@lssu.edu)
  • University Sport and Spirit Coordinator – Britani Douglass (bdouglass@lssu.edu)
  • Outreach Coordinator – Makayla Marshall (mmarshall4@lssu.edu)
Past Events
Contact UAB

Email:  activitiesboard@lssu.edu

Facebook/Twitter/Instagram:  @LSSUUAB

Location: Student Organization Center; Room 100 Cisler Center
Phone: 906-635-2756
Fax: 906-635-2083

Please complete the form below

2 + 0 = ?