Industrial Advisory Board

The Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) is comprised of engineering professionals who actively participate in the development and promotion of Lake Superior State University’s engineering and engineering technology programs, faculty, staff and students.

The School appreciates the time and effort of the members and the difference they make.

STAUNCH SUPPORTERS: The members of the Industrial Advisory Board have a major impact on the curriculum of our engineering and technology programs. Several member companies have also sponsored senior projects and contributed to the Charlie Snyder Memorial Engineering Scholarship in addition to equipment acquisition and internships.

Schedule & Events

The Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) meets once during the fall semester and once during the spring semester, often on campus at LSSU. If you are interested in upcoming meeting dates, please contact the engineering office: .

Role Statement & Expectations

IAB members guide, nurture and assure that the School of Engineering and Technology produces engineers with skills that will not only fulfill today’s industrial needs, but will foresee the requirements of tomorrow in a global economy. IAB members provide a “real time” interface with both faculty members and students bringing today’s industrial technology to LSSU “today.”

IAB Role Statement

IAB Members are Expected to:

  • Evaluate and critique engineering programs by providing professional experience and direction.
  • Be able to provide technical support such as teaching materials, information on equipment, donation of equipment, and funding.
  • Promote LSSU engineering curriculum to young people by participating in regional recruitment seminars and invite students for industrial tours.
  • Attend Industrial Advisory Board meetings.
  • Support the senior project program with ideas or equipment and/or materials.
  • Encourage professional development of the faculty by providing summer employment and sponsoring sabbaticals.
  • Provide assistance with job placement for students both full-time and summer internships.
  • Participate on subcommittees.
  • Vote during IAB meetings on issues relative to the Role Statement.


Active Members

Ray Adams

Dean Emeritus – retired
Lake Superior State University
College of Engineering & Technology
Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

Bob Andersen

Supervisor, Instrumentation – retired
Continental Automotive
Auburn Hills, Mich.

Tim Bennett

Senior Process Engineer
Nexteer Automotive
Saginaw, Mich.

Fred Berg

Senior Program Manager
Nexteer Automotive 
Saginaw, Mich.

Ted Clark

Vice President of Engineering
Superior Fabrication Company LLC
Kincheloe, Mich.

David Clingen

General Manager, Engineering & Environment
Algoma Steel Inc.
Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

Paul Duesing

Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering – retired
Lake Superior State University
Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

Lynnette Eding (Chair)

Supply Quality Engineer
Trans-matic Mfg Co
Holland, Mich.

Todd Fewings

Precision Edge Surgical Products LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

Allan Frappier

Chief, Maintenance Branch
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

Dan Goodrich

Engineering Supervisor
Continental Automotive
Auburn Hills, Mich.

Gerry Grosskopf

Electrical Engineer
Industrial Magnetics
Boyne City, Mich.

Diane Haig

Manager, Human Resources & Information Technology
Applied Manufacturing Technologies
Orion, Mich.

Karl Hansen

Bridge Engineer
International Bridge Administration/MDOT
Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

Trace Hill

Modeling and Simulation Engineering
Boeing Defense, Space and Security

Jeff Johnston

Production Development Engineer
Eugene, Ore.

Steve Kars

Kars Enterprises, LLC
Rapid River, Mich.

Jim Keighley (Secretary)

Vice President of Engineering – retired
Kraft Foods and Procter & Gamble
Cincinnati, Ohio

James Kucher

Maintenance and Engineering Manager
Tenaris Algoma Tubes
Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

Ralph Larsen

Vice President
Michigan Scientific Corporation
Charlevoix, Mich.

Brad LeBouef

Systems Control
Iron Mountain, Mich.

Ernie Maas

Vice President Engineering and Operations, retired
Cloverland Electric Cooperative
Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

Leith Nader
Technical Manager
Kawasaki Robotics
Wixom, Mich.
Kevin St. Onge

EUP STEM Director
EUP Intermediate School District
Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

Trevor Swenson

Systems Engineer
Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

John Tillotson

Technical Fellow
Honeywell International
Boyne City, Mich.

Jerry Timm

Senior Engineer
Michigan Scientific Corporation
Charlevoix, Mich.

Marty Zoener

Mechanical Engineer,
Automation Control Systems
Boyne City, Mich.

Meeting Archives & Downloads

Fall 2018

Fall 2018


Spring 2018

Fall 2017

Spring 2017

Fall 2016

Spring 2016

The Fall 2015 meeting was held on November 6 beginning at 8 am at the Continental in Brimley. The group reconvened at the LSSU campus in the Great Lakes Rooms of the Cisler Center.

The Spring 2015 meeting was held at the LSSU campus on May 1 in the Great Lakes Rooms of the Cisler Center. Senior project presentations and demonstrations followed lunch..

The Fall 2014 meeting was held on Friday, November 1st beginning at 8 am with breakfast at Precision Edge Surgical Products in Sault Ste. Marie. The group moved to LSSU’s campus for lunch and the afternoon portion of the meeting.

The Spring 2014 meeting was held on the LSSU campus on May 2. Election for secretary: unanimous vote for Lynnette Eding to continue her responsibilities. Following are downloadable files for the agenda and meeting presentation.

The Fall 2013 meeting was held at the LSSU campus in Sault Ste. Marie on Nov. 1.

The Spring 2013 meeting was held on the LSSU campus on April 26th. Elections results: Steve Kars – chair, Lynnette Eding – secretary.

The Fall 2012 meeting was held at the LSSU Regional Center in Gaylord on November 2, 2012.

The Spring 2012 meeting was on the LSSU campus on April 27th. Chris Conklin announced his retirement from the IAB – our best wishes to him as he spends some quality time with his grandkids! He will be greatly missed.

The Fall 2011 meeting was held at the LSSU Regional Center in Gaylord on November 4th. Congratulations to Steve Kars for re-election to secretary and Welcome! to our new members: Trevor Swenson of Research In Motion in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.; Tim Bennett of Nexteer Automotive in Saginaw, Mich.; and John Tillotson of Honeywell International in Boyne City, Mich.

The Spring 2011 meeting was held on the LSSU campus on April 29. Congratulations to Nathan Callagan on his election to chair, and to Steve Kars on his election to Secretary. Welcome! to our newest member: Adil Shafi of Advenovation, Inc in Brighton, Mich., and best wishes to Charile Litzner on his retirement from Cloverland Cooperative and the IAB.

The Fall 2010 meeting was held at the LSSU Regional Center in Gaylord on November 5th.

The Spring 2010 meeting was held on the LSSU campus on April 30. Congratulations to Nathan Callaghan for being voted in as the new IAB secretary.

Our Fall 2009 meeting was held on Nov. 6 at Michigan Scientific in Charlevoix. Our thanks to Ralph Larsen for his sponsorship.

Spring 2009 – hosted at the LSSU Campus on May 1.

Fall 2008 – hosted by Bob Andersen at Museum Bronze in Auburn Hills on November 7.

Spring 2008 – hosted at the LSSU campus on May 2.

Fall 2007 – hosted by Ralph Larsen at Michigan Scientific in Charlevoix on Nov. 2.

Spring 2007 – hosted at the campus of LSSU on May 4.

Fall 2006 – hosted by Lynnette (Utecht) Eding at Johnson Controls in Holland on Nov. 3.