Redefining the Classroom

Biological Sciences Scholarships

Return to previous page

Marian and Raymond Chelberg Outstanding Science/Athlete Scholarship Fund
Professor Emeritus Raymond Chelberg and his wife Marian were one of the original faculty families at the Michigan College of Mining and Technology, Sault Branch in 1946. From that time until he retired in 1970, Professor Chelberg was chair of the Chemistry Department. He was a dedicated teacher for more than 44 years and was remembered for his personal, caring and effective approach to teaching. In 1959, Michigan Technological University named him Teacher of the Year. He wrote a "Workbook for First Year College Chemistry" that was used throughout the United States. Marian taught music appreciation at Lake State and was one of the founders of the Musicale. She was choir director at Central United Methodist Church and was one of the first women invited to join the Rotary Club. Together, Raymond and Marian significantly enhanced the scientific, athletic and cultural aspects of Sault Ste. Marie and the surrounding community. The Chelberg scholarship is awarded to a natural science major, with a grade point average of 3.0 or higher, who demonstrates leadership abilities and contributes significantly to the success of the athletic team on which he or she is a letter-winner.

Dr. Kevin & Pamela Cooper Professional Scholarship
Dr. Kevin and Pamela Cooper are both natives of Sault Ste. Marie. Son of Laker legend Ronald “Bud” Cooper, Kevin grew up on the LSSU campus. He attended LSSU earning his B.S. and graduating Suma Cum Laude in 1979. In 1983, Kevin earned his dental degree at the University of Michigan. While at U of M, he was named the Outstanding Student in Periodontics in 1979 and was the recipient of the National Health Services Scholarship at the University of Michigan Dental School.

Kevin served as the first president of LSSU’s renewed Alumni Association from 1994-1995. In 1995, he received the Outstanding Alumnus Award at Lake Superior State University. This award honors personal and professional accomplishments and involvement with LSSU and is the highest honor the Association presents. Pam also attended LSSU earning her Associates Degree and graduating Cum Laude in 1979. She graduated with a BA in dental hygiene from the University of Michigan in 1983. She is a member of the Sigma Phi Alpha Dental Hygiene National Honor Society.

In 1986, Kevin and Pam returned to Sault Ste. Marie and set up a private dental practice. They have two sons, Craig and Brian. The Coopers are very involved with the local community and are strong supporters of Lake Superior State University. Successful candidates must have earned at least 26 LSSU credits and is enrolled in the LSSU pre-dentistry program with a GPA of 3.0 or higher with preference given to students who are graduates of a Michigan Upper Peninsula high school. If there is no eligible pre-dentistry student, preference will be given to a student majoring in pre-medicine or in a biological sciences program.

Michael Della-Moretta Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship honors Michael Della-Moretta, a 1977 alumnus and Navy pilot killed in 1981 while serving aboard the USS Independence off the coast of Iran. He once said the happiest years of his life were at Lake Superior State University. The award is given to an Eastern U.P. resident with an interest in biological science or lab science major (including math and computer science) who has achieved academic excellence.

Dr. Arthur E. Duwe Memorial Scholarship
Professor Emeritus Arthur Duwe joined the LSSU faculty in 1968 as an Associate Professor of Biology-Chemistry. Although he was eligible for retirement in 1988, he chose part-time teaching over full-time retirement and continued teaching at Lake State until his death in 1991. One of his teaching associates described Professor Duwe as a man who had a heart of gold. He was a fascinating lecturer and a demanding teacher. Even though students may not have liked his tests, they loved his lectures. He placed particular emphasis on senior research projects to help the students get organized and prepare their projects to the best of their ability. The Duwe Scholarship is awarded to a senior clinical laboratory science, biology, fisheries and wildlife, or environmental science student for his/her year of internship.

William R. Gregory Scholarship
This scholarship was established in honor of William R. Gregory, former president of Edison Sault Electric Company. He has served as a member of the LSSU Board of Trustees and the LSSU Foundation Board. He received LSSU's Distinguished Citizen Award in 1986. Former LSSU President Robert Arbuckle once stated, "Bill Gregory has actively supported the University with his talent and treasure for over 25 years. No one in this region is more devoted to Lake State." Successful candidates must be a junior majoring in engineering, mathematics, business, biology or fisheries and wildlife management with a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Joseph and Bonnie Halvorsen Memorial Scholarship
The Joseph and Bonnie Halvorsen Memorial Endowment was established by the Halvorsen’s children to provide financial assistance to any LSSU student pursuing a career as a park ranger for the state of Michigan or National Park Service. They were married in Manistique, Mich., on April 15, 1952, shortly after Halvorsen began his career with the Michigan Department of Natural Resources. He worked up through three park ranger grades to assistant park manager at nearby Indian Lake State Park. All five of their children were born while the family lived in Manistique.

Between 1963 and 1977, Halvorsen managed F. J. McLain State Park in Hancock, Grand Haven State Park, Brimley State Park, and Tahquamenon Falls State Park. In 1977 he was promoted to assistant regional parks supervisor, working out of Marquette. He retired in 1991 as an assistant regional parks supervisor. Despite all these accomplishments, Halvorsen always felt his advancement was curtailed because he lacked a college degree. He spent the last years of his career training people who would go on to surpass him, always willing to assist and provide advice because of his love and commitment for the job.

Successful candidates must have at least 26 LSSU credits (sophomore status) majoring in parks and recreation, natural resources technology, environmental science, conservation biology, or fisheries and wildlife management.

Robert J. McEnroe Science Award
The named award is established by Robert J. McEnroe, a 1975 alum who is grateful for the education he received at Lake Superior State University and wished to give back to the students majoring in science. Successful candidates must be from the Michigan Upper Peninsula majoring in Biology or Chemistry.

Edward and Jill Smith Scholarship
Edward Smith is a physician who has been practicing in St. Ignace, Michigan since 1986. He is a Lake Superior State alumnus who received his MD Degree from Michigan State University and completed a Hematology/Oncology Fellowship at the University of Michigan. Currently he provides care for patients with cancer and blood disorders in Michigan’s Eastern Upper Peninsula. Jill is a registered nurse and a graduate of Grand Rapids Junior College. She is an Oncology Nurse at Mackinac Straits Hospital in St. Ignace, Michigan. The Edward and Jill Smith Scholarship is awarded to a student who is enrolled in a LSSU pre-med concentration program with at least 56 LSSU credits and a GPA of 3.0 or higher.