-Alyssa Bancroft
-Paul Kelso
-Matthew Spencer


--LSSU/AGI Curriculum Survey
--Digital Library of Earth System Education (DLESE)
--Michigan Geology
--Michigan Basin Geological Society
--Michigan Karst Conservancy


-Lake Superior Region

Home / Classes / Faculty



C. Ernest Kemp Endowed Scholarship

C. Ernest Kemp was one of the original instructors of the Sault Branch of Michigan College of Mining and Technology in 1946 and founder of the initial earth science program at L.S.S.U. The world-renowned geologist was the recipient of LSSU's Distinguished Citizen Award in 1981, the first and only full-time faculty member to be selected for the award. He retired in 1980 and was awarded Dean Emeritus status, but continued teaching at LSSU until 1993. This scholarship is awarded to a high school senior admitted to the geology program. The recipient is selected based on high school grades, ACT score and class rank.

John Kalesky Memorial Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship was established by Elizabeth Kalesky in memory of her son, John Kalesky, a 1985 LSSU geology alumnus. In 1987, he was a recipient of the prestigious American Association of Petroleum Geologists Foundation Grant-in-aid for pursuit of graduate studies. Only 74 such grants were awarded nationwide. John was a very creative thinker, highly inquisitive, and always aggressively wanting action and results. He was an outstanding student at LSSU, a very creative individual and, in recognition of his outstanding undergraduate record, he was awarded a graduate assistantship to pursue M.S. studies at New Mexico State University . He worked hard and took his coursework very seriously and he also enjoyed life to the fullest. At the time of his death in 1989, he was employed with Shell Oil Company in Houston , Texas . Awarded to an entering freshman majoring in geology, the recipient must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher with selection based on ACT score and class rank.


Leonard Payne Geology Scholarship

In 1994, at the age of 44, Len Payne returned to school to earn his college degree. After two years attending North Central Michigan College, he transferred to Lake Superior State University. He found a similar situation at both schools - very little funding for older, returning students. Because he had already earned an Associates with a GPA of 3.92, he was able to receive some financial aid at LSSU. However, towards the end of his studies he found himself in the position of having to sell an original 1902 Remington Rolling-Block rifle, which had been a gift, in order to attend the Geology Field Camp. In 1999, he graduated from LSSU with B.S. in Geology with a 3.88 grade point average. Mr. Payne established this scholarship so that students who are working towards their Geology degree do not find themselves in a similar situation of having to part with items they treasure in order to fund their education. Successful candidates must be a student majoring in the geology program who has earned a GPA of 3.2 or higher. Preference is given to a male student who is single and 30 years of age or older at the time of awarding.


Geology Club Scholarship

Founded in 1946 by Professor C. Ernest Kemp ( ), the Geology Club is the oldest established student club at the University. The club's purpose is to foster personal and professional growth through geology-related activities. Established in 1982, the scholarship is funded by proceeds from the sale of a geology lab manual written by Professor Lew Brown and LSSU geology students. Past recipients of the Geology Club Scholarship are listed on the Awards page.



ScholarshipsResearchAwardsGeology Club

Contact e-mail