Lake Superior State University
Board of Trustees
Minutes of Special Meeting
Considine Hall
LaJoie Board Room
August 23, 2017

The Board of Trustees of Lake Superior State University met in special session beginning at 11:00 a.m. on Wednesday, August 23, 2017 in the LaJoie Board Room of Considine Hall, Lake Superior State University, Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, and with Board of Trustees members in attendance and connected via teleconference. The meeting was pursuant to Section 1.03 of the Bylaws of said Board.

Section numbers and headings of these minutes correspond to the agenda. A copy of the proposed agenda was distributed to each Trustee at the public session of August 23, 2017. Any material considered by the Board, which was distributed at the time of the meeting, is so designated in these minutes. Copies of all such material are contained as appendices to these minutes.

At the call to order there were a few members in the audience and one member of the press.

I. Roll Call

Chair Rodney M. Nelson called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. and asked Ms. Kaye M. Batho, Secretary, to call the roll. The following members responded "present":

Mr. Thomas C. Bailey

Mr. Douglas R. Bovin

Mr. Rodney M. Nelson

Ms. Ann Parker

Mr. Randy Pingatore

Dr. Peter T. Mitchell, President and Ex-Officio

Five Trustees were recorded as present and Trustees James P. Curran, Mark W. Mercer and Sandi Frost Steensma as absent. Trustees Bailey, Bovin, Parker were connected via teleconference. Trustees Nelson and Pingatore were in attendance. Present for the University was Dr. David R. Finley, Interim Provost; Ms. Jaimee Gerrie, LSSU Faculty Association; and Mr. Morrie Walworth; Vice President for Finance and Operations.

II. Approval of the Agenda for August 23, 2017

Mr. Pingatore moved for Board approval of the agenda for August 23, 2017 as presented; supported by Mr. Bailey. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

III. Addresses to the Board

There was none.

IV. Approval of Faculty Association Contract Recommendation

Mr. Bailey moved for Board approval of the Faculty Association contract as presented; supported by Mr. Pingatore. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

Dr. Mitchell commended the Faculty Association and administrative negotiation teams for practicing in good faith.

Mr. Nelson thanked Prof. Gerrie and Dr. Jason Garvon for their commitment to the contract. Professor Gerrie also expressed appreciation to the negotiation teams.

V. Approval of Naming Opportunity for Tom Pleger Recommendation

Dr. Mitchell informed the Board of the recommendation to memorialize former President Dr. Tom Pleger, who passed away unexpectedly in May 2017. He added that a memorial is scheduled for August 27, 2017.

Mr. Bailey moved for Board approval of the recommendation for the University to name an area of Brady Lawn (between Administration Building and Crawford Hall) as the Dr. Thomas and Teresa Pleger Commons and to be informally called Pleger Commons; supported by Mr. Bovin. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

VI. Center for Freshwater Research and Education Update

Dr. Mitchell, Dr. Ashley Moerke and Dr. Kevin Kapuscinski informed the Board of informational updates on the CFRE project including a recent meeting with Governor Snyder's and the State Budget Office staff. LSSU is working with the state offices to transfer the project from renovation to a new construction project, the City of Sault Ste. Marie and Cloverland Electric's engagement, soil testing and moving forward with opportunities for a tentative June 28, 2018 groundbreaking.

Drs. Moerke and Kapuscinski commended Dr. Mitchell for his enthusiastic momentum on the CFRE project.

Mr. Bailey commended Dr. Moerke, Mr. Pat Egan, Dr. Mitchell and all involved for their work on this exciting project.

VII. Other Business

There was none.

| VIII. Adjournment |
|-------------------|
|-------------------|

9:00 a.m. on August 28, 2017.

| Mr. Pingatore moved for adjournment at 1 with unanimous voice vote. | 1:22 a.m.; supported by Ms. Parker. The motion carried |
|---|--|
| | |
| | |
| Rodney M. Nelson, Chair | Peter T. Mitchell, President |
| | |

Minutes prepared by Ms. Kaye M. Batho, Secretary. A draft of these minutes was completed at