Lake Superior State University Board of Trustees Minutes of Special Meeting Walker Cisler Student Conference Center Crow's Nest June 23, 2017

The Board of Trustees of Lake Superior State University met in special session beginning at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, June 23, 2017 in the Crow's Nest of the Walker Cisler Student Conference Center, Lake Superior State University, Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, and with Board of Trustees members connected via teleconference and in attendance. The meeting was pursuant to Section 1.03 of the Bylaws of said Board.

Section numbers and headings of these minutes correspond to the agenda. A copy of the proposed agenda was distributed to each Trustee at the public session of June 23, 2017. Any material considered by the Board, which was distributed at the time of the meeting, is so designated in these minutes. Copies of all such material are contained as appendices to these minutes.

At the call to order there were several members in the audience and one member of the press.

I. <u>Roll Call</u>

Chair James P. Curran, called the meeting to order at 11:30 a.m. and asked Ms. Kaye M. Batho, Secretary, to call the roll. The following members responded "present":

Mr. Thomas C. Bailey Mr. Douglas R. Bovin Mr. James P. Curran Mr. Rodney M. Nelson Ms. Ann Parker Mr. Randy Pingatore Dr. David R. Finley, Acting President and Ex-Officio

Six Trustees were recorded as present and Trustee Sandi Frost Steensma and Dr. Mark Mercer as absent. Trustees Bovin and Parker were via teleconference. Present for the University in attendance or via teleconference were Mr. Thomas Coates, Executive Director of the Foundation; Matthew Jurvelin; Vice President for Enrollment and Student Affairs; Mr. Derric Knight, ESP Union President; Mr. Morrie Walworth, Vice President for Finance and Operations; and Dr. Aaron Westrick, Faculty Association President.

II. Approval of the Agenda for June 23, 2017

Mr. Pingatore moved for Board approval of the agenda for June 23, 2017 as presented; supported by Mr. Nelson. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

Lake Superior State University Minutes of Board of Trustees' Special Meeting June 23, 2017

III. Addresses to the Board

There were none.

IV. Approval of 2017-18 Tuition and Fees Recommendation

Mr. Nelson moved for Board approval of a tuition increase of 3.75% and the approval of the proposed structure of rates (Appendix A) as presented; supported by Mr. Bailey. The Chair requested a roll call vote. The results of the roll call were:

Mr. Thomas C. Bailey	"Yes"
Mr. Douglas R. Bovin	"Yes"
Mr. James P. Curran	"Yes"
Mr. Rodney M. Nelson	"Yes"
Ms. Ann Parker	"Yes"
Mr. Randy Pingatore	"Yes"

The motion carried with unanimous roll call vote.

Trustee Mark Mercer joined the meeting via teleconference at 11:36 a.m.

V. Approval of Recommendation to Execute a Contract for an Interim President

Mr. Nelson moved for Board approval of the recommendation for the University to execute a one-year contract with Dr. Peter T. Mitchell as interim president; supported by Mr. Pingatore. The Chair requested a roll call vote. The results of the roll call were:

Mr. Thomas C. Bailey	"Yes"
Mr. Douglas R. Bovin	"Yes"
Mr. James P. Curran	"Yes"
Dr. Mark W. Mercer	"Yes"
Mr. Rodney M. Nelson	"Yes"
Ms. Ann Parker	"Yes"
Mr. Randy Pingatore	"Yes"

The motion carried with unanimous roll call vote.

VI. Approval of Contract for Renovation Project Recommendation

Mr. Pingatore moved for Board approval for a renovation project contract of the roof of the Walker Cisler Student and Conference Center as presented; supported by Mr. Bailey. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

Lake Superior State University Minutes of Board of Trustees' Special Meeting June 23, 2017

VII. Other Business

Mr. Bailey moved to present and approve a resolution of appreciation to Dr. Finley and the LSSU campus community during the presidential transition as presented (Appendix B); supported by Dr. Mercer. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

VIII. Adjournment

Mr. Pingatore moved for adjournment at 11:55 a.m.; supported by Mr. Bailey. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

James P. Curran, Chair

David R. Finley, Acting President

Minutes prepared by Ms. Kaye M. Batho, Secretary. A draft of these minutes was completed at 4 p.m. on July 10, 2017.