Lake Superior State University Board of Trustees Minutes of Special Meeting Considine Hall LaJoie Board Room November 27, 2019

The Board of Trustees of Lake Superior State University met in special session beginning at 1:00 p.m. on Wednesday, November 27, 2019 in the LaJoie Board Room of Considine Hall, Lake Superior State University, Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, and with Board of Trustees members connected via zoom conference. The meeting was pursuant to Section 1.03 of the Bylaws of said Board.

Section numbers and headings of these minutes correspond to the agenda. A copy of the proposed agenda was distributed to each Trustee at the public session of November 27, 2019. Any material considered by the Board, which was distributed at the time of the meeting, is so designated in these minutes. Copies of all such material are contained as appendices to these minutes.

At the call to order there were a few members in the audience.

I. <u>Roll Call</u>

Ms. Ann Parker, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m., and asked the secretary, Ms. Lauren Pierce to call the roll. The following members responded "present":

Mr. Thomas C. Bailey Mr. Timothy Lukenda Dr. Mark W. Mercer Ms. Ann Parker Mr. Randy Pingatore Ms. Sandi Frost Steensma Dr. Rodney S. Hanley, President and Ex-Officio

Six Trustees were recorded as present. All six Trustees were connected via Zoom conference. Mr. Rodney M. Nelson joined the meeting via Zoom conference at 1:05 pm. Trustee Richard Barch texted Mr. Walworth at 1:01 stating he was connected via Zoom but his microphone was not working. Present for the University were Dr. Lynn Gillette, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs via Zoom; and Mr. Maurice Walworth, Vice President for Finance and Operations.

II. Approval of the Agenda for November 27, 2019

Mr. Bailey moved for Board approval of the agenda for November 27, 2019 as presented; supported by Mr. Lukenda. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

Lake Superior State University Minutes of Board of Trustees' Special Meeting November 27, 2019

III. Addresses to the Board

LSSU faculty member, Dr. Chris Smith acknowledged LSSU faculty member Herbert Henderson and MEA representative Diana Kelly for their time and dedication with the faculty contract language and negotiations. Dr. Smith thanked the LSSU administration, Dr. David Myton, Dr. Lynn Gillette, Wendy Beach, Morrie Walworth and Dr. Ashley Moerke.

IV. Chair's Remarks

Chair Parker shared thanks for both sides of the negotiation teams and good wishes to everyone involved with the negotiation process.

V. <u>President's Remarks</u>

Dr. Hanley provided various campus updates including:

- The new hiring of Fred Pierce Dean of Admissions and Marketing, bringing 20 years of experience.
- The new hiring of Angela Stempky Director of Marketing
- Dr. Hanley echoed Chair Parker and Dr. Smith's comments and shared appreciation for all of the efforts from both faculty and administration teams. He shared thanks for their level of transparency and working through the collective bargaining process effectively.

VI. <u>Agreement between Lake Superior State University and the Lake Superior State University</u> <u>Faculty Association MEA-NEA</u>

Trustee Nelson joined via Zoom at 1:05 p.m.

Dr. Gillette agreed with Dr. Smith's comments and acknowledged the efforts of both the faculty and MEA representative Diana Kelly in their efforts with contract negotiations. Dr. Gillette stated that the Faculty Union voted and approved the final faculty agreement on November 20 of 2019.

Mr. Pingatore moved for Board approval of the Lake Superior State University Faculty Association contract agreement as presented; supported by Mr. Bailey. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

Trustee Barch voted "yes" via text message due to technical difficulties.

VII. Other Business

Mr. Bailey echoed his thanks and shared appreciation for the efforts of both faculty and administration.

Lake Superior State University Minutes of Board of Trustees' Special Meeting November 27, 2019

VIII. Adjournment

Mr. Nelson moved for adjournment at 1:13 p.m.; supported by Mr. Bailey. The motion carried with unanimous voice vote.

Ann Parker, Chair

Rodney S. Hanley, President

Minutes prepared by Ms. Lauren Pierce, Secretary. A draft of these minutes was completed at 2:00 p.m. on December 6, 2019.