

May 9, 2023

Update from the Chair of the Presidential Search Committee Cynthia Williams

Dear Students, Faculty, and Staff:

The Board of Trustees met Friday, May 5, 2023, to embark on the process of recruiting the next president of Lake Superior State University with the goal of having the next president in place as soon as is practical while emphasizing the importance of a thorough search process.

The Board intends for the search process to engage the broader LSSU community and public at large.

To that end, the Board passed a resolution outlining the following goals:

To attract and retain the most highly qualified person to serve as President, whose knowledge and experience can advance the university's mission and strategic goals.

- 1. The Board retains ultimate authority to select, appoint, and employ the President of the University.
- 2. The Board delegates to the Board chair responsibility for organizing and coordinating the Presidential search process.
- 3. As the assistance of a presidential search consultant is required for the completion of a timely, professional and effective presidential search, the Board chair shall assure that the university undertakes a competitive solicitation process to secure a contract with such a consultant.
- 4. The Board directs the Board chair to establish a Presidential Search Committee to organize and undertake a search process. The Board chair will appoint the members of the Presidential Search Committee, which shall include representatives of the university and the community at large.
- 5. The Presidential Search Committee has been established and shall include the following individuals:

Lake Superior State University 2023 Presidential Search Committee

Cynthia Williams, LSSU Trustee and Committee Chair Hayley Beaudoin, Chair of the Student Government President's Council Dr. Kathy Berchem, Dean of the College of Health and Behavior Pat Caruso, LSSU Trustee

Jon DeRoo, LSSU Trustee

Don Gerrie, Mayor, Sault Ste. Marie, MI

Whitney Gravelle, President, Bay Mills Indian Community

Don Jones, Facility Attendant and Education Support Professionals President

Bob Kjolhede, Foundation Board Member and LSSU Alumni

Tim Lukenda, Chair, LSSU Board Trustee, Ex-Officio

Dr. Joseph Moening, Faculty Association President and Professor of Electrical Engineering

Dr. Ashley Moerke, Executive Director of CFRE and Professor of Biological Sciences **Fred Pierce**, Dean of Admissions and Marketing

Mackenzie Stockwell, Student Government President

Damon Whitten, Men's Hockey Coach

The membership of the Presidential search committee has been established with individuals of good judgment who represent a broad constituency and have expressed an interest and willingness to invest time in the search process to assist the university in this important process for the future success of LSSU.

The presidential search committee will be responsible for working with the search consultant to adopt a leadership profile and position description for the position of president, for reviewing applicants to determine qualified candidates, for interviewing and ultimately recommending a short list of the most qualified candidates to the Board of Trustees.

The Board commits to updating the LSSU community on progress at regular intervals throughout the search process and seeking input whenever possible.

As Chair of the Presidential Search Committee, I am committed to keeping our students, faculty, staff, and the community apprised of our progress along the way.

The Board is currently working to identify the search firm we will partner with and then we will engage the full search committee once that task is complete.

One of the Board's most important duties is the responsibility for appointing, employing, and supervising the university president. We have begun the journey towards identifying the next president and I appreciate everyone's consideration and participation in this most important endeavor.

Best Regards,

Cindy

Cynthia K. Williams
Vice Chair, Board of Trustees Lake Superior State University
Chair, Presidential Search Committee