LSSU anchor

Lake Superior State University’s Board of Trustees Names Search Committee, Conducts National Search for Next Lake State Permanent President

LSSU anchor

Lake Superior State University’s Board of Trustees will conduct a national search for Lake State’s next permanent president and has named a presidential search committee accordingly.

“The goal is to have the 11th permanent president in place as soon as is practical while emphasizing the importance of a thorough search process,” said LSSU Board Chair Timothy L. Lukenda. “We also intend for the search process to engage all LSSU stakeholders as well as the general public.”

The Board will contract with a presidential search consultant through a competitive solicitation process overseen by Lukenda. He has appointed Board 1st Vice Chair Cynthia K. Williams to head the presidential search committee. It will collaborate with the search firm to create a presidential leadership profile and job description, review applicants to determine qualified candidates, conduct preliminary interviews, and then recommend a short list of finalists to the Board, which ultimately hires the campus leader.

The presidential search committee includes the following LSSU representatives and community members:

  • Cynthia K. Williams, Board 1st Vice Chair and Presidential Search Committee Chair
  • Hayley Beaudoin, Student Government President’s Council Chair
  • Kathy A. Berchem, Dean of the College of Health and Behavior
  • Patricia L. Caruso, Board 2nd Vice Chair
  • Jonathan P. DeRoo, Board Trustee
  • Don Gerrie, Mayor, Sault Ste. Marie, MI
  • Whitney Gravelle, President, Bay Mills Indian Community
  • Don Jones, Facility Attendant and Education Support Professionals President
  • Bob Kjolhede, Foundation Board Member
  • Timothy L. Lukenda, Board Chair, Ex-Officio
  • Joseph P. Moening, Faculty Association President and Professor of Electrical Engineering
  • Ashley H. Moerke, Executive Director of the Barch Center for Freshwater Research and Education and Professor of Biological Sciences
  • Fred Pierce, Dean of Admissions and Marketing
  • Mackenzie Stockwell, Student Government President
  • Damon Whitten, Men’s Hockey Head Coach

“The Board commits to updating LSSU students, faculty, staff, and alumni, and our community neighbors, on progress of the search and seeking input whenever possible,” said Lukenda.

“One of the Board’s most important duties is the responsibility for appointing, employing, and supervising the university president,” added Williams. “We are excited to have begun the journey of identifying the next permanent president and look forward to wide participation in this most important endeavor.”

In early April 2023, the Board appointed LSSU Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Lynn G. Gillette as interim president upon the resignation of Dr. Rodney S. Hanley, who had served as president since July 2018.